On Thursday, October 10, 2015, SubAla held its annual Industry Awards Banquet in the Grand Ballroom at The Club in Birmingham.  This industry-wide event honored members of the construction industry for their contributions to Alabama’s construction climate.  

The night started with a cocktail hour overlooking a beautiful Birmingham skyline at sunset.  This was a perfect opportunity to network and meet the award winners.  A dinner followed before the awards ceremony started.

Hundreds of industry professionals from all facets of the construction industry, including architects, engineers, general contractors, subcontractors, suppliers, and owners of many of the area’s construction projects attended to honor:

General Contractor of the Year (Category III) - B. L. Harbert International, LLC; General Contractor of the Year (Category II) - Johnson Kreis Construction; General Contractor of the Year (Category I) - Maxus Construction CompanyGeneral Contractor Safety Award - Turner Construction Company; Specialty Contractor of the Year (Central Alabama) - BRAWCO, Inc.; Specialty Contractor of the Year (North Alabama) - Systems Technology Co. of Alabama, Inc.Specialty Contractor of the Year (South Alabama) - Thomas Industries, Inc.Service Contractor of the Year Anderson’s New Construction Cleaning, Inc d/b/a ANCC, Inc.Project Manager of the Year (Category III) - Tres Jernigan - Brasfield & Gorrie, LLCProject Manager of the Year (Category II) - Curt Thompson - Duncan & Thompson ConstructionSuperintendent of the Year (Category III) - Buddy Clark - Brasfield & Gorrie, LLCSuperintendent of the Year (Category II) - Dale Barnett - Rives Construction Company, Inc.Estimator of the Year (Category III) - Richard Brooks - Brasfield & Gorrie, LLCEstimator of the Year (Category II) - William Tynes - Golden Construction; Architect of the YearJoel Blackstock - Williams Blackstock Architects; Engineer of the Year - Chris Golden - BBG&S Engineering Consultants, Inc.Developer of the YearRobert Simon– Corporate Realty DevelopmentUpstart Business of the YearDynamic Civil SolutionsLegislators of the Year - Senator Paul Bussman & Representative Mack ButlerLifetime Achievement AwardPete Bradford, USI Insurance Services.

Special thanks to our sponsors:
Platinum - BL Harbert International; Brasfield & Gorrie, LLC; Hoar Construction, LLC; Garrison Steel Erectors, Inc./Garrison Steel Fabricators, Inc.; JohnsonKreis Construction; Marathon Electrical Contractors, Inc.
Crystal - Maxus Construction Company
Gold - Bright Future Electric, LLC; Brown Mechanical Contractors, Inc.; Environmental Systems Corporation; Fulcrum Construction; Golden Construction; Hardy Corporation (2); Hinkle Roofing Products, Inc.; HRA Risk Services; J Smith Lanier & Co, Inc.; Marathon Electrical Contractors, Inc.; Paradiso Painting Co, Inc.; Quality Architectural Metal & Roofing, Inc.; RoofersMart Southeast, Inc.; Sherman Industries, Inc.; Summit Electrical Construction, Inc.; Alabama Trane; UAB Facilities.
Silver- Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC; Barfield, Murphy, Shank & Smith, LLC; Brasfield & Gorrie, LLC; Corporate Realty Development; CraneWorks; Doster Construction; Duncan & Thompson Construction; Dunn Building; McGladrey, LLP; McGriff, Seibles & Williams; Rives Construction Co, Inc.
Mark your calendars early to attend this Fall event every year.